Box Set Authentic is a loosely-knit group of eight friends and longtime musical collaborators who really like one another’s songwriting. We record whenever enough of us get together in the same place. When we can’t, we record at home and share our work digitally. Our roots are in Chicago, but we have branches that span from Los Angeles to London.





Guy Crundwell

Vocals, bass, guitar

John deMoulpied

Vocals, guitar, banjo

Joy Gregory

Vocals, guitar

Rick Karr

Vocals, guitar, keyboards, programming

Michael Sankowski

Vocals, drums and cymbals, guitar, programming

Matthew Neill Sharp

Vocals, programming, keyboards, guitar

Mark Venn


Steve Zimmers

Vocals, keyboards, guitar, programming


  • Cover:Peace in the Middle West
    • 10:24Bloomsday (Chorus)
    • 22:38Pretty
    • 32:30Marilyn
    • 44:11Kitty Hawk
    • 50:53bb_var01
    • 63:34not cool, trumfio
    • 72:47Draw
    • 84:36Cracked Glasses
    • 92:02Family Law
    • 101:176L/24R
    • 112:50L.A.-Ex
    • 122:29Custard's Last Stand
    • 132:47Anhedonia
    • 141:1224L/6R
    • 153:32Verloren
    • 162:23Rocket Ship
    • 171:55Blue Bag


Most of us played in and around Chicago in the bands Shovel Choir, Tart, and the Velmas. By 1999, all three had split and their members had relocated across the U.S. We got sick of wishing we could be in a band together every time we heard one of the others’ new songs. Guy Crundwell announced that going forward, we were together in a band, geography be damned. New Yorker Rick Karr and Chicagoan Steve Zimmers stepped forward to produce a session at Chicago’s late Stroppy Studio. Joy Gregory flew in from Los Angeles, Rick and Guy flew in from the East Coast, and Mark Venn came from London. They linked up with the Chicagoans — Zimmers, John deMoulpied and Michael Sankowski — to start recording material for Peace in the Middle West. Matthew Neill Sharp joined from California, contributed his beat-editing, remixing, and songwriting skills. Subsequent sessions took place in Chicago, the Bay Area, and New York. The collective is currently at work on its second release, tentatively titled Mixtape.


find us online